top of page

In the Area: Andrew McFarlane (KW region)


There are many people, places, and things that can catch one's attention--especially the eye of a photographer/videographer.

Andrew McFarlane has been passionately pursuing his career in photography and videography. Asking for an interview with Valiant Magazine, he happily answered; ready to share his experience with others.

What started your interest in videography and photography?

“Back when I was a kid, probably around four or five, I made a bunch of those little flipbook animations. Then a few years later I started making animations using a bunch of flash based animation programs and a game called Gary's Mod. At that point I wanted to become an animator, but then I realised I couldn't draw well in the slightest so I bought a camera and started trying to storytell that way. This continued until I was probably about 17-18 and I decided I wanted to try experimenting with photography.”

This was not just an interest for Andrew, as he gained experience in the industry during his early teen years.

“I've been working as a videographer for probably about seven years. When I was around 13-14 I started getting serious about film and began working as an event videographer. Later on, about when I was 16 I transitioned to primarily film and television and have been working on photography ever since.”

What is your favourite part about what you do?

“I absolutely love networking with people and building relationships with a variety of different people. My favourite aspect has to be storytelling. Whether it be a narrative through film or portrait photography, I adore being able to demonstrate a plot or emotion visually.”

Do you have any passion projects coming up?

“Yes! I am currently in pre-production for a video series featuring special locations and people from the KW region. It's primarily focused on people and places with a global impact. I have recruited a very talented team and should be beginning production soon. Shout out to Katherine (Ross), Brandon (Nguyen) and Taylor (Lalonde) for helping me with this!”

Andrew always seems to be ready to collaborate with others, and is easy to contact!

“My Instagram is where I get most of my traction, you can reach me there @aa.m.photography, or through my website aamedia.services.”

Website: https://www.aamedia.services/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/aa.m.photography/

bottom of page